The Foundation

Somebody once described me as being “idealistic to a fault.” I’m still not entirely sure if I agree with that or really even understand what it means, but it’s out there. The truth is: I have a few very strong beliefs and, while I am open to having them challenged and questioned, until something big changes them, I am unwavering.

I decided that I’d share a few of them with you today in no particular order.

  • I believe in “going out” karma. This is the bartender in me. I truly believe that when you go out and leave a shitty tip, it will come back around to you. On the other side of the coin, if I receive a shitty tip, as long as I still offer the best service I can, it will balance out for me in the end.
  • People are good by nature. If given the option to do something evil or something good, people will choose good over evil. Not everybody and not all the time, but speaking generally.
  • Honesty is the best policy. I’m not talking about conversations or white lies or small omissions, but honesty to yourself. If you tell somebody that you love them and you know that it’s true, then you’ve done the right thing because it will all work out in the end.
  • It will all work out in the end.
  • Smiling is the second first best thing you can do with your lips. Kissing is second. Unless it’s a kiss that makes you smile; then it’s first.
  • The only thing you can ask of yourself is to do your very best. It doesn’t matter if you don’t succeed in the way you thought you would as long as you’ve done everything you can. Also, nobody can ask for more from you than you ask from yourself.
  • Whatever you do, do it with conviction. As long as you believe in what you do and you put everything you have into it, you’re doing it right.
  • It will all work out in the end.
This entry was posted in D.C.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Foundation

  1. Jules DC says:

    Definitely don’t compromise on those, Adam. I’m a server and bartender up in Columbia Heights, and have to remind myself of the same convictions daily.

    One time some guys got pretty tipsy at the bar and left their iPhone. They had signed the check, and DID remember to write in a tip– but it was $60, when it definitely should have been $30. I ran after them down the block to return the card and let them correct the tip if they wanted. They edited it back to $20. It bummed me a bit to get under 20%, when I clearly went above and beyond.

    Another table had watched the whole bit, and asked me if they tried to run out on their bill; they thought they’d get to see me dropkick dashing diners. I laughed and told them the story, but didn’t let it bum me out. My remaining customers were damn cool people, and it wasn’t their fault.

    They ended up tipping me an extra $40, on top of their 20%, because they thought I deserved the reward.

    I agree. Life does eventually work out, in the end.

  2. Well this made me do that smiling thing you mentioned and cheered me up just when I needed it. I’ve been accused of being a bit crazy in my optimism from time to time but haven’t been feeling it lately. It’s nice to know there are others out there, just carrying that little “It all works out in the end” torch, keeping it warm for me and everyone else who might need it.

Leave a Reply

